About the Author

Although originally from California, Lou resides in the Pacific Northwest with family and a herd of cats who like to block her computer screen whenever possible. Before turning to writing full time, she was an engineer and project manager. When not writing, Lou quilts for charity and edits on a pro-bono basis for other authors.

Early work was horror and suspense, later work morphed into a combination of magical realism, mystery and adventure painted with a horrific element as needed.

I’m one of those writers who doesn’t plan ahead, no outlines, no clue, and sometimes write myself into a corner. Atmospheric music in the background helps entice the moodier muse that must be present. Black by Pearl Jam is one that really helps.

Chronological milestones:

1988-1993: Short stories in small presses Crossroads, Eldritch Tales, Nightmares, Heliocentric Net, Cabal Asylum, Black October, and Pirate Writings.

1994: Santa Barbara Writers Conference SF/Fantasy/Horror award.

2002: Barnes and Noble anthology 365 Scary Stories

2003-2004: Ghost story anthologies Monsters From Memphis and More Monsters From Memphis. It is possible to find old copies on Amazon.

2003: Honorable mention from Ellen Datlow in The Years Best Fantasy and Horror for one of my short stories.

2009: Anthology story Sherlock’s Opera, Seattle Noir edited by Curt Colbert, Akashic Books. Available through Amazon or Barnes and Noble online.

May 1, 2009, Booklist published a favorable review of my contribution to the anthology. This was a very happy day.

2009: Three books written. Sea of the Vanities, Farm Hall, and Circle of Fifths.

2010: In Memory of the Sibylline, was accepted into the best-selling anthology edited by Charlaine Harris–Crimes by Moonlight. At the time I was the only non-agented, non-book published author accepted into the anthology. The Celwyn series begins. A few months later I hooked up with my agent, Justin Bell of Spectrum Literary.

2018: The story, The Violins Played before Junstan is published in the MWA anthology Odd Partners, edited by Anne Perry. The Celwyn series begins.

Present: My new publisher, 4 Horsemen has reissued book 1 of the Celwyn series, The Violins Played before Junstan. The remaining books in the series: Music Shall Untune the Sky, The Raven and the Pig, The Pirate Danced and the Automat Died, will debut, beginning in 2023. The companion book, Farm Hall, will be reissued in 2023 where readers will see more of Pelaez, another immortal magician and Celwyn’s brother. A second companion book, Sea of the Vanities is also due out in 2023.

On Facebook

On Twitter

On Goodreads

1 Comment

  1. Suspension of Disbelief with Anita Dickason and Lou Kemp - Mystery Review Crew
    June 23, 2022 @ 2:16 pm

    […] Lou very eloquently describes ‘Suspension of Belief’ from the perspective of fantasy, magic and science fiction. Excerpt from: Suspension of Disbelief. Or, How Authors Cause Rational Readers to Jump on a Supernatural Train by Lou Kemp […]

Leave a Reply